• For immediate release  

Betaseed is proud to announce the 2015 scholarship winners in the Michigan Sugar growing area. Six $500 scholarships were awarded in schools within each of the Michigan Sugar Grower Districts. Since the program began in 2011, 30 students have been awarded scholarships to help with their college expenses. Betaseed partners with the Independent Sales Agents in the Michigan market to fund this program. To qualify for the scholarship, the applicant must be related to a member of the Michigan Sugar Company and be enrolled full time in an institute, college or university this fall.

The winners in each district are as follows:

East District – Jonathan Bischer, Ubly High School & Lauren Mauer, Harbor Beach High School

Central District – Emma Maust, Laker High School & Mitchell Ackerman, Reese High School

West District – Alexander Schlatter, Bay City Western & Brooke Young, Breckenridge High School

Betaseed, Inc., headquartered in Bloomington, Minnesota, is North America’s premier sugarbeet seed company. From our start in 1970, Betaseed has maintained a longstanding commitment to the beet sugar industry, with research and seed production operations in several states and marketing seed to all sugarbeet markets. Our mission is to develop the best performing seed products and services through innovative people, plant breeding, and seed technology.

Press contact – Rene Scheurer
Phone: 952-233-6941